delicious. Produce Awards 2016

Premium food brand delicious. announced an exciting new line up of judges for Australia’s leading food awards, the delicious. Produce Awards in partnership with Miele, for the Awards’ 11th year. Sydney’s Peter Gilmore and Melbourne’s Andrew McConnell join existing national judges Maggie Beer, Matt Moran, Shannon Bennett, Guillaume Brahimi, Alla Wolf-Tasker and Christine Manfield, who together have unearthed and recognised some of Australia’s best produce over the last decade.

Other new judges for 2016 include Paul West (River Cottage Australia), Anthony Puharich (Vic’s Meat), Ross and Sunny Lusted (Bridge Room, NSW), Mike McEnearney (No. 1 Bent Street, NSW), Monty Kulodrovic (Icebergs Dining Room & Bar, NSW), Mike Bennie (delicious. drinks writer), Iain Todd (Ethos Eat Drink, Tas), Joe Grbac (Saint Crispin, Vic) and Paul Baker (Botanic Gardens Restaurant, SA). The delicious. Produce Awards judging panel now consists of 39 Australian food leaders who dedicate their time to support the best Australian producers and drive innovation in the industry.

The program sees a new approach to the Awards’ nomination process with the country’s top chefs and restaurateurs asked to nominate the passionate producers they work so closely with. Industry experts will also be asked to nominate the products, producers, chefs, regions, food trails and experiences, stores and designers that contribute to creating Australia’s outstanding food and dining experiences. Nominations will be open until April 22, 2016.

delicious. editor-in-chief Kerrie McCallum said: “Australia’s produce, producers and chefs are globally renowned for excellence. It is exciting and a privilege to be part of the delicious. Produce Awards’ history and to work with such an esteemed panel of judges to discover what’s next in 2016”

Maggie Beer said: “We’re very lucky in Australia to have such a diversity of cultures that we can swap and borrow from to make up our own version of local cuisine. We are such a young country so we are developing an Australian cuisine, that is an ever-growing thing, which is wonderful, but ‘produce as the star’ will always be key.”

Peter Gilmore said: “After hosting the annual Produce Awards party at Bennelong last year, I am thrilled to join the national judging panel for 2016. I’m going to be looking
for innovation, thinking outside the box and a commitment to quality.”

Andrew McConnell said: “Seasonal produce guides me in writing menus and recipes. From the subtropical north to the moody weather patterns of Tasmania, the diversity of Australian produce is incredible and I’m excited to discover the best our farmers and growers are making as a judge on the Produce Awards.”

Matt Moran said: “We are so lucky to live in a country with such a unique landscape and diverse climates. The ingredients we have right at our fingertips are often the highest quality. That says a lot about our incredible farmers who are passionate and dedicated to producing the best products.”


Innovation will be a key focus for the 2016 Awards, with delicious. partnering with premium appliance manufacturer Miele for the first time.
The Award for Outstanding Innovation, sponsored by Miele, seeks to recognise an individual, group or community in the food or agriculture industry demonstrating outstanding innovation in the production of food and using sustainable and ethical methods to achieve such innovation. Miele will also sponsor and present the headline award for Producer of the Year. Miele marketing director Gabriella Franklin said: “Miele is proud to partner with delicious. on the 11th year of the Produce Awards. With over 100 years history and a strong heritage of innovation and state-of-the-art design, Miele shares the brand’s commitment to fostering innovation and quality in the industry.”

Australian audiences will be called on to vote in the NEW Outstanding Region – Reader’s Choice Award, nominating their favourite Australian food regions. Nominations for this new award will open later in the year. Kerrie McCallum said: “Australians love to discover new regions and increasingly the focus is on the food and food experiences regions have on offer. Opening up the Outstanding Region Award to readers to vote on, we hope to see a passionate debate celebrating established and developing regions all over Australia.”

• Alla Wolf-Tasker • Andrew McConnell NEW • Christine Manfield • Guillaume Brahimi • Maggie Beer (awards patron) • Matt Moran • Peter Gilmore NEW • Shannon Bennett

• Alex Herbert, Bird Cow Fish (NSW) • Dan Hunter, Brae Restaurant (Vic) • David Moyle, Franklin (Tas) • David Rayner, Thomas Corner Eatery (Qld) • David Swain, Fino (SA) • Hadleigh Troy, Restaurant Amuse (WA) • Iain Todd, Ethos Eat Drink (Tas) NEW • Jake Nicolson, Blackbird Bar & Grill (Qld) • Joe Grbac, Saint Crispin (Vic) NEW • Kiren Mainwaring, Co-op Dining (WA) • Mark McNamara, Food Luddite (SA) • Martin Boetz, The Cooks Co-Op (NSW) • Mike McEnearney, No.1 Bent Street (NSW) NEW • Monty Koludrovic, Icebergs Dining Room and Bar (NSW) NEW • Paul Baker, Botanic Gardens Restaurant (SA) NEW • Paul West, River Cottage (Tas) NEW • Paul Wilson, Mr Wilson (Vic) • Philippe Leban, A Tiny Place (Tas) • Ryan Squires, Esquire (Qld) • Seth James, Wills Domain (WA)

• Anthony Puharich, Vic’s Meat (NSW) NEW • John Susman • Simon Johnson

•Anthony Huckstep • John Lethlean • Matt Preston • Mike Bennie (delicious. drinks writer) NEW •Necia Wilden • Ross and Sunny Lusted, The Bridge Room (NSW) NEW • Simon Marnie • Simon Wilkinson

delicious. Produce Awards 2016